Week 8: Art Activity – Sketching in the Garden

This week’s art activity was sketching in the Japanese Garden at CalState, Long Beach. This was actually my first time going to the Japanese Garden, it’s smaller than I thought it was going to be, but it was still beautiful nonetheless. So I did multiple sketches for this activity including some 30-second sketches, abstract and contour sketches. During the 30-second sketches, I felt like it was kind of a rush and I couldn’t get all the details I wanted to include in the sketch and time just went by so quickly. Whereas the abstract sketches, I felt like I could’ve done it in 30 seconds, because I didn’t worry about including all the details in the image. Rather I just did simple lines that makes the image resembles something I see in the garden. I found the 5-minute sketches to be much more relaxing and I could actually sit down and focus much more on the details of the scenery. Overall the experience was great and I’m glad I was able to go to the Japanese Garden to do these sketches!

 

Leave a Reply

